St Alphonsus R.C. Church, Calton, Glasgow, Scotland

Parish Pastoral Council


Pastoral councils were first recommended in Vatican II’s Decree on the Pastoral Office of Bishops. The Revised Code of Canon Law [Canon 536] set out in 1983, allowed for the establishment of the PPC to ‘assist the Pastor in planning, coordinating and directing all aspects of parish life’.

Parish Council at St Alphonsus

St Alphonsus Parish Pastoral Council meets normally every two months, but more frequently when required. The agenda has regular reviews / updates from the various Sub Committees i.e. -

Members of the Parish Council are drawn from the parish community and are elected as Office Bearers for each of the sub committees listed above.

The Parish Council Office Bearers (some of which are to be confirmed) are as follows -

  • Chair Person -Karen Wilson
    • Vice Chair -Ruth Anne O'Neil
    • Secretary -Jim Sheehan
    • Social Committee -Rosemary Wilson & Rosie Wilson
    • Fabric & Finance Comittee - Margaret Paice
    • Liturgy - Helen Alexander
    • Children & Vulnerable Person Protection - Sarah-Jane Devlin, Margaret Ann Lever
    • Education in Faith (RCIA) - Sarah Reilly
    • Education in Faith (Catechism) - Jennifer Payne
    • Justice & Peace -vacant
    • Ecumenical - Guy Grenade
    • Fundraising -vacant
    • St. Vincent de Paul Society- Francis McGilligan
    • Knights of St. Columba -vacant
    • Website Admin - Jim Sheehan


If you are intestested in becoming a member of the Parish Pastoral Council please get in contact. You can contact the St Alphonsus Parish Council via email using this link.


Parish Notices

October Pilgrimage


The Canonization of the Conforti Xaverian founder took place on Sunday, 23rd October 2011. A pilgimage to Rome and Parma was organised and a photo diary can be found here.

More notices